Holo-TC (Vitamin B12) Test

B12 status
The B12 level, which is usually measured in the blood also shows the amount of inactive B12. This value can provide an approximate guide, but it can also be misleading. A potential deficiency might be overlooked.
 

Holo-TC II (holotranscobalamin) value
A holo-transcobalamin II (holo-TC) test is recommended when examining the status of active B12 in the blood.

 

The Holo-TC value is measured in the capillary blood. To do this, a little blood is drawn from the fingertip. The sample is analyzed in the laboratory and after a few days the result is available. A short consultation is included in the price of 48 €.

 

B12 - important for many metabolic functions in the body

  • DNA synthesis

  • Breakdown of fatty acids

  • Blood formation

  • Keeping the nervous system healthy

  • Cell division

 

Occurrence in food
Vitamin B12 is produced by microorganisms. B12-producing bacteria are found in the intestines of some animals, as well as in the soil and contaminated water. Relevant amounts of B12 are only found in foods of animal origin such as meat, milk or eggs. Certain plant-based foods such as algae (spirulina) or sauerkraut contain either vitamin B12 analogues (inactive forms), very small amounts, or strongly varying amounts of B12.

 

Vegans, vegetarians and omnivores over 50 

With a vegan diet, vitamin B12 must be supplemented. Vegetarians are also often affected by an undersupply. People over 50 are also advised to keep an eye on their blood B12 status. The metabolism of B12 becomes more difficult with increasing age due to problems of proportion.

 

B12 deficiency
Early symptoms: disruption of cell division in the bone marrow

Late symptoms: pernicious anemia, funicolary myelosis

 

B12 deficiency can cause irreversible damage to the nerves and spinal cord.




 

800px-Cobalamin_skeletal.svg.png

Holo-TC (Vitamin B12) Test

B12 Status im Blut bestimmen
Der B12 Wert, der standardmäßig im Blut untersucht wird, zeigt auch die Mengen an inaktivem B12. Dieser Wert kann eine ungefähre Orientierung liefern, aber auch irreführend sein. Eine potentielle Unterversorgung kann übersehen werden.
 

Holo-TC II (Holotranscobalamin) Wert
Wenn man den Status von aktivem B12 im Blut untersuchen will, wird ein Holo-Transcobalamin II (Holo-TC) Test empfohlen.

 

Der Holo-TC wert wird im Kapillarblut gemessen. Dafür wird ein wenig Blut aus der Fingerbeere entnommen. Die Probe wird im Labor analysiert, und nach ein paar Tage ist das Ergebnis verfügbar. Im Preis von 48€ ist eine kurze Nachbesprechung des Ergebnisses miteinbegriffen.

 

B12 - wichtig für viele Stoffwechselfunktionen im Körper

  • DNA-Synthese

  • Abbau von Fettsäuren

  • Blutbildung

  • Gesunderhaltung des Nervensystems

  • Zellteilung

 

Vorkommen in Lebensmitteln
Vitamin B12 wird von Mikroorganismen gebildet. B12 produzierende Bakterien kommen im Darm mancher Tiere vor, sowie in der Erde und kontaminiertem Wasser. In relevanter Menge ist B12 nur in tierischen Lebensmitteln wie Fleisch, Milch oder Eiern vorhanden. In gewissen pflanzlichen Lebensmitteln wie Algen (Spirulina) oder Sauerkraut sind entweder Vitamin-B12-Analoga (inaktive Formen), sehr kleine Mengen, oder stark variierende Mengen B12 enthalten.

 

Veganer, Vegetarier und Mischköstler über 50 

Bei einer veganen Ernährung muss unbedingt Vitamin B12 supplementiert werden. Häufig sind auch Vegetarier von einer Unterversorgung betroffen. Personen über 50 wird ebenfalls empfohlen, den B12 Status im Blut im Auge zu behalten. Die Verstoffwechslung von B12 wird mit steigendem Alter, aufgrund von Resportionsschwierigkeiten, schwieriger.

 

B12 Mangel
Frühe Symptome: Störung der Zellteilung im Knochenmark

Späte Symptome: Pernizöse Anämie, Funicoläre Myelose

Ein B12 Mangel kann irreversible Schädigung von Nerven und Rückenmark zur Folgen haben.




 

800px-Cobalamin_skeletal.svg.png