Fatty Acid Analysis (incl. Omega-3 Index)

Fatty acid analysis

With a few drops of blood from the fingertip, your fatty acid profile is analyzed in detail. The sample is sent in and analyzed in an independent laboratory using a standardized, quality-controlled process. The results are available after a few days. The omega-6/3 ratio, the omega-3 index, the trans fatty acid content and 26 fatty acids are determined. This analysis allows determining the individual need for omega-3.

 

Especially the omega-3 index has a very high informative value regarding the prevention and treatment of diseases such as heart diseases and chronic inflammatory diseases.

 

View sample report. (German only)

 

Omega-3

Omega-3 fatty acids, alongside omega-6 fatty acids, have a unique position among the fatty acids, as some of them are essential, i.e. have to be taken in through food. The most important omega-3 fatty acids include alpha-linolenic acid (ALA), eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) and docosahexaenoic acid (DHA). We often consume too many omega-6 fatty acids and too few omega-3 fatty acids.

 

Omega-3 to Omega-6 ratio

In addition to the absolute amounts of these fatty acids, the ratio of omega-6 to omega-3 fatty acids is relevant. This should be a ratio of 5:1. In our western society, however, it averages 20:1 or even more. This is problematic for our body, as the omega-6 fatty acids produce inflammation-promoting substances that promote certain diseases. In sensitive phases of life, such as pregnancy, the omega-3 requirement is increased. If we do not consume enough fish, flaxseed oil, walnuts, etc., it can be hard to meet the omega-3 requirement.

 

 

Do you have any questions about fatty acids, omega-3, or the test? Contact me.

omega 3 Test.png

Image: Example of the fatty acid analysis result

(c) Norsan

Fettsäureanalyse (inkl. Omega-3 Index)

Fettsäureanalyse

Mit einigen Tropfen Blut aus der Fingerbeere wird dein Fettsäure-Profil detailiert analysiert. Die Probe wird eingesendet und in einem standardisierten und qualitätsgesichteren Verfahren in einem unabhängigen Labor gemessen. Nach wenigen Tagen ist der Befund verfügbar. Bestimmt werden das Omega-6/3-Verhältnis, der Omega-3-Index, der Transfettsäure-Anteil sowie 26 Fettsäuren. Der individuelle Bedarf an Omega-3 lässt sich mit Hilfe dieser Analyse belegen. 

Vor allem der Omega-3 Index hat eine sehr hohe Aussagekraft in der Prävention und Therapie von Erkrankungen, z. B. von Herzerkrankungen und chronisch entzündlichen Erkrankungen.

Musterbefund ansehen. Die Fettsäureanalyse kann im Rahmen einer Ernährungsberatung durchgeführt, oder separat gebucht werdnen.

 

Omega-3

Omega-3-Fettsäuren nehmen neben den Omega-6-Fettsäuren unter den Fettsäuren eine Sonderstellung ein, da einige davon essentiell sind, also über die Nahrung zugeführt werden müssen. Zu den wichtigsten Omega-3-Fettsäuren zählen die Alpha-Linolensäure (ALA), die Eicosapentaensäure (EPA), die Docosahexaensäure (DHA). Oft nehmen wir zu viele Omega-6-Fettsäuren und zu wenige Omega-3-Fettsäuren zu uns.

 

Omega-3 zu Omega-6 Verhältnis

Neben den absoluten Mengen dieser Fettsäuren ist das Verhältnis der Omega-6 zu Omega-3-Fettsäuren wichtig. Dies sollte ein Verhältnis von 5:1 betragen. In unserer westlichen Gesellschaft beträgt es aber durchschnittlich 20:1 oder noch mehr. Für unseren Körper ist das problematisch, da aus den Omega-6-Fettsäuren entzündungsfördernde Stoffe entstehen, die gewisse Erkrankungen fördern. In sensiblen Lebensphasen wie in der Schwangerschaft ist der Omega-3 Bedarf erhöht. Konsumieren wir zu wenig Fisch, Leinöl, Walnüsse etc., kann es sehr schwer sein, den Omega-3 Bedarf zu decken.

Hast du noch Fragen zu Fettsäuren, Omega-3, oder dem Test? Kontaktiere mich.

omega 3 Test.png

Bild: Ausschnitt Analyseergebnis

(c) Norsan